Petit Four

Petit four is literally ‘small oven’ in French and not ‘small 4’ as I thought (or it’s just me?). It was loads of fun making them since I always fancy small and dainty things. Was quite chaotic in the kitchen though as we had to make 4 types of petit fours in each session. Plus the chiller was not that chill and my sables was not hard enough when I cut them (yes, blame everything but the monkey who did them – as Chef C. would say).

And don’t call them cookies (not in France at least!).

Anyway, here are my petit friends:

I also made pistachio chocolate fudge (very rich and chocolatey) and macaroons with raspberry jam:

I’m not a big fan of macarons. In fact, I don’t remember eating them before. Will pop down to Laduree (they invented the double macaron sandwich in the 1800s which we see today) and see if they taste good!

2 Responses to “Petit Four”


  1. 1 liz July 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Hey,
    What fun it is to read and catch up with your latest baking creations via your blog! 🙂

    Sorry we’ve not hooked up for some weeks now – next week lah. we bring you to my secret tea house for afternoon tea * wink wink.

    Anyways, upon reading your culinary updates and learning that you are not a fan of macarons – the shock and horror has compelled me to share with you my love for Macarons:

    http://www.laduree.fr/

    http://www.laduree.fr/public_en/produits/macarons_accueil.htm

    Once tasted…. never regretted – trust me.
    In London – you can find it inside Harrods food court – but probably we’ll need to bring you to the one in Paris for you to fully enjoy those beautiful little delights in true parisian splendour.

    Paul can testify that I sure do love ’em. And… you will too!
    hahahahaah…
    Liz

  2. 2 Bean Sprout July 13, 2008 at 6:45 am

    wow…I really like your Petit Four photo…so cute ^ ^. In Basic we just did some of biscuits…like sable in you photo..

    Our intermediate will start on 21th July..


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 278,019 hits

