Fraisier the happy Strawberry

Fraisier comes from fraise – strawberry in French.

I have been dying to make this cake. I see this cake in most patisseries and they look so pretty with their strawberry halves exposed and sandwiched in cream. Though I must say the patisseries in London can do quite a bad job in presentation – I have seen lopsided strawberries and uneven tops.

It’s my first attempt so do give a discount. Was glad my strawberries came out quite clean.

And yes, the marzipan rose is a mandatory feature for the lesson ( I know, it makes the cake so 80’s):

Oh, it’s a very yummy cake. The cream is the star of the show – rich, smooth and full of creamy vanilla goodness. We use 100% vanilla pods and nothing beats that fragrance. I have one vanilla pod in a ziplock bag in my drawer and the whole drawer still smells like vanilla.

2 Responses to “Fraisier the happy Strawberry”


  1. 1 Vicky November 7, 2008 at 11:50 am

    thats looks amazing 🙂 but how did you get the top to have those lines and what is it made of, is it marzipan??

  2. 2 chiffonchic November 9, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Hi Vicky,

    Yes, it is made from marzipan. Traditionally, Fraisier has a marzipan top but nowadays you can see strawberry glazes since marzipan is not so nice to eat.

    The grooves are made by a ‘groovy’ roller. It’s quite a nice feature isn’t it?


Leave a comment




Archives

Blog Stats

  • 282,793 hits